Posted by: le2jog | September 21, 2010

A real Maplehurst welcome.

Yesterday – Monday 20th – we woke at the usual time, for the usual breakast slot in order to leave at 8:30. 
But this time there was no lycra, no weather watching to see how many layers to put on and no kit check.    Bit sad really.
John, Jackie and I were due to set off in the trusty camper van to bring bikes, dirty laundry, kit and ourselves back to Sussex.   Alex,David and Simon were going to be flying down at lunchtime so as we could all meet at The White Horse in the evening.  We were happy to see the rain, as we didn’t have to ride in it, and we did feel a pang for the two riders with panniers cycling up the steep sliproad from Abington Services.  I remember that hill well!!     What’s missing from the picture?  4 bikes chained to the sign.  About a week or so earlier we had been at Abington Services, also in the rain, to fuel up before heading off for our second leg of the day.  Memories – ahhhh!  What's missing?
John did a sterling job at the wheel of the camper, getting us home in 11 hours door to door, with only two short stops.  Jackie and I helped where we could being well behaved (sleeping a lot mostly) reading quietly and never asking – ‘Are we nearly there yet?’  It was a strange journey early on as we recognised bits of our cycle, even when we were one road removed on the motorway.  The big highrise flats as you come into the Glasgow area were very obvious, and I couldn’t even tell where our road had been across the countryside.

It has been the most wonderful two weeks of cycling, seeing the wonderful countryside of England, Wales and Scotland – there are many places I would like to go back and visit for a longer look.  For our journey though, we were spot on I think, for time out each day and for the sights we got to see.  Thanks again to John, who spent months of planning, booking and making sure it all went smoothly on the event, and without his efforts, this would surely not have happened.  Fitting then that the welcome home banner, kindly created by Ann, included all our names, peddlers and coach side by side.   

This was the first thing we saw as we drove into the car park, and as wwe tumbled out of the van, a little stiff from sitting so long, people can out clapping and cheering to welcome us home.  Alex had been over earlier to get a pat on the back, and david joined us shortly after to capture some of the excitment.  There were balloons and banners, and the big map of Great Britain all on proud display. There I placed my trophy too and cards of congratulation. 

Pins all up the country, showing our route.

We had been gee’d along our trip reading all the comments of support on our blog’s and now we could see how we had been followed on the map.  Each evening after we had sent news we had arrived at the days destination, the new pin was put in.  A big bow was on the top to show we made it! 

Thank you to all who came last night to welcome us home, to all those who have followed us along the way, and to all of you who have taken time to comment.  Even today I welcome two new commentors – Ian Mcbean and Rosemary Cowley.  We certainly had agood time unwinding and enjoying the party!
Three big smiles ;-)

Thank you too to all those who have sponsored me for my trek.  The Alzheimers Society will be very grateful I’m sure.  As I’m still collecting I haven’t a total yet, but I will keep you updated.  Also, it’s not too late to sponsor if you would still like to.  The Just Giving link is still up and running, and of course the sheet in the pub is too. 

I’ve got to go and open up now, and I’m sure viewing figures will go down now the ride is finished, but I’ll be continuing on my blog for those who would like to get the final figures, photos I may get from others, and other events that may spring from this one.  The Pacific Coast of America might be fun, or perhaps Europe somewhere.  The possibilities are endless……any ideas from the crowd?

All the best, keeping checking in,                                                                                                        My trophy :-D

Beth xx

 

 


Responses

  1. Congrats again! I presume you got up shortly after I left at 7 this morning 😉

    Maybe see you this evening!

    K x

  2. Didn’t we do well? Feeling abit strange today, odd not to be cycling. Odd not to be in our little quintet in some hotel/b n b somewhere, eh? Ah well, back to the real world. Washing smelly cycle gear for me! See you soon xxxxx


Leave a comment

Categories