Posted by: le2jog | September 27, 2010

Where did that week go?

It’s been a week since we got back from our epic adventure.  I had my first cycling dream last night – we were in Reading on the way home cycling home from John O’Groats!  I must be keen. 
Actually I’m missing my bike.  It went in for a service the day after we got home and is going to be ready on Wednesday next week.  Too long away, and too long before a ‘recovery’ ride.  It’ll be more like a ‘learn to ride my bike again’ ride!  The big map is still up in the pub and each day when I look at it I still marvell at the distance we covered.  At the time it became routine, getting up at 7, sorting kit, breakfast at 8, set off no later than 9.  Cover the miles. 
I miss it.

People keep asking me what will be next, but at the moment I’ll have to concentrate on work, the house round the corner, and rather more excitingly, Kerrie and Adam’s wedding next year.  There are many places I’d happily take my bike around the world.  One day perhaps.  For now, I have many happy memories of a tour of Great Britain. 
Montbretia lining the roads in Cornwall, crazy, neverending hills over Exmoor with fluffy sheep and bolshy ponies.
Rainy, but beautiful Devon.
Stunning views of Clifton Suspension Bridge and then the new and old Severn Bridges.
Staying at the lovely Riverside Inn, followed by the not so lovely Raven Hotel!
Reaching Preston after only a week……wow!
Climbing the long and beautiful Shap Fell.
Penrith, pasta, togas and cocktails.
Moffat and the endearing Moffat Ram.
Rainy Glasgow and stealing 3 extra miles and losing a hill 😉
Crianlarich the rainbow day and ending up at ‘home’ with Jen and her drying room.
Strong faces on the Commando Memorial, mean B&b who turn their wi-fi off at night.
A 15% hill ending in pipes and kilts at Beauly.
Golspie, got there early, drank the bar dry…..well nearly.
Wick – very nearly there now. 
Early start, sunny day with stunning views…the Orkneys, and oh!  Here we are in John O’Groats.
Welcoming committee with great coach John, Simon, Chris, Roxanne, Alex and Jo.  🙂
Recovery in Inverness before getting in the camper van for the journey home.

So a week’s gone by and the world has gone back to normal, nearly anyhow.  The map’s still up so I can marval at the distance we covered everyday and remember my favourite riding buddies, Jackie, Alex and David.  We have to do something else in the future.  I love that Pacific coast idea Jackie.  Great link you sent over…..Well done on Album making too- great selection of pictures.

Thank you too for your generous sponsorship, I’m still collecting but it looks like it may be nearly £4,000.  For anyone who may like to sponsor me post event, the Just Giving link is still open (to the right of this post)  and the sheet is still out in The White.  The Alzheimers Society will be very grateful for all contributions.  Keep in touch, and I’ll keep posting. 

Beth xx


Leave a comment

Categories