Posted by: le2jog | October 3, 2010

Another week, another bike ride……

Hi there and welcome to Autumn proper.  It’s been a wet and windy week, every day except Thursday that is.  Which was just as well because I got my bike back from it’s service on thursday- HURRAH – and went out for a ‘recovery’ ride in the afternoon.  It was a bit late for a recovery ride really, but it was great to get back in the saddle and ride round the countryside again.  Next time the sun comes out, I’ll do it again!  Hope that’s soon.

On Friday 1st October Ray Welton kindly said I could come to his 2010 launch of the Old Ale and collect for The Alzheimers Society.  I was happy to take him up on his offer and even happier to be able to taste the new Old Ale and experience a fantastic evening out.
 

Ray Welton's Old Ale tasting session.

He had a great turn out, with many people wanting to taste the beer and The Broadwood Morris side with guests to entertain us all.  The beer was indeed delicious, I think Simon has already ordered 2 barrels!  If you want to find out more check, out the link to the right.  Katia had laid out a fine array of cheeses with great chunks of french bread which was most welcome after a couple of beers.  I set up the big map, and my Alzheimers cycle top, trophy, balloons and the laptop with a slide show of our journey so people could get a taste of our adventure.  As I squeezed through the throng, collecting, I heard many tales of cyclists, would-be lejogers and family storys of loved ones with dementia.  It was interesting and moving, and I enjoyed every minute.  Everyone was very generous over the evening and I collected £211.05.  Thankyou one and all, but special thanks to Ray and Katia for inviting me to be there.  

I’m still collecting my sponsors for the le2jog’s ride, thank you all once again.  The link is still open to my just giving page too…..just in case…..

I very much look forward to next time I get out on the bike, but meanwhile I have three sessions on the calendar for painting round the corner.  I did a few hours yesterday, and can now move down the stairwell, painting as I go to reach the first floor.  Then I may have to sand plaster again  –  YUCK.  Keep in touch, I’ll let you know how I go!!!

Beth xx


Responses

  1. still in SC but home soon – pleased to see you’re settling back into things (or maybe not??). As you say time to plan ahead – just how far will Simon allow????? will show story to friends here in states – especially as I have taken a long time to talk them through the golf this weekend – Ha Ha


Leave a comment

Categories